What is the default length until the visitor gets the announcement again after closing it?
Can this be configured in any way?
The announcement will be closed for 1 year.
It will be re-shown to all users when a new announcement is made.
If you want to force the closed announcement to reappear, just make some small changes like adding a full-stop etc. Doing this will delete the cookie and make it appear for all.