Could you please share info on which plugin you are using?
Renewing the license does not delete/overwrite any CSS. The plugin does nothing related to that.
Did you edit the plugin source file with your custom CSS?
In that case, when you upgrade the plugin, then the old plugin will be uninstalled and new one will be installed. So your modifications inside the plugin code will be gone. Is that what you mean?