The plugin uses the standard method of using the "meta boxes' you see on the post editing page. So auto-save will work as normal. I've never experienced a similar effect as you told. This is completely new.
Check out the image below, the buttons are checked even after the post is saved automatically.
Does this occur with other "meta boxes" you see ??